WikiLeaks: Whistleblowers or Anti-Privacy Terrorists?

By Jamie McIntyre
Line of Departure
Tuesday, July 27, 2010

I am wrestling with why I feel so unsettled about the massive, unprecedented data dump by the website WikiLeaks, which has posted some 91,000 formerly secret documents about the Afghanistan war. As a professional journalist I have been on the receiving end of hundreds of leaks, and they have been invaluable in helping me sort out unvarnished fact from official fiction, which after all is at the core of my job.

By remaining agnostic on the consequences of its actions, WikiLeaks seems to me to less in the traditional good old-fashioned muckraking, and more like anti-privacy terrorism.   If I were the New York Times, I would not be happy about being described as one of WikiLeaks “media partners” on the organizations website. READ MORE at: lineofdeparture.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

